Alzheimers (the enemy within)

Published May 5, 2012 by paulfeatherstone

Anyone who has a loved one who is suffering from Azheimers, will tell you that it can be a daily struggle for both the person affected by the disease, and those who are caring for that person. This is my personal perspective of how Azheimers effects both myself and my mum, and the constant battle which we have to endure, due to the devastating ways, this cruel disease destroys lives. When faced with such overwhelming odds, it is very easy to lose Faith and belief in yourself. It can leave you feeling weak, tired, depressed and drained. But, when faced with such dark times, there is only one course of action you can take. And that is to fight back.

Alzheimers (the enemy within) by Paul Featherstone

I am overwhelmed with fear,
Of what awaits tomorrow,
Enduring each new day,
In a cruel land of sorrow,
At times, I utterly despair,
Of this unforgiving place,
While the tears fall freely,
Down my saddened face.

There is no just reason,
For my tormented mind,
Only, more and more pain,
Upon this dark road, I find,
Some think I am courageous,
Like a brave noble knight,
Who battles on relentless,
Against an impossible fight.

Searching to find answers,
To the obstacles in my way,
While holding myself together,
Wishing, I could break away,
With a myriad of puzzles,
Which I have yet to solve,
Against a face-less enemy,
Who destroys my resolve,

How I hate you Alzheimers,
And I despise your name,
The way you spread mischief,
While my mum takes the blame,
You take away her memories,
Her humanity, and respect,
Condemning her to confusion,
As you progress, and infect.

If I could only swap places,
Against this terrible disease,
Then I could share her burden,
Know exactly what she sees,
Understand how mum suffers,
With this awful cross to bare,
Constantly she’s hallucinating,
Of things which are not there.

With ease you break my spirit,,
And weigh heavy upon my soul,
Turn my loved ones against me,
As you force me, to lose control,
Chipping away at my psyche,
Until my energy has run dry,
Bringing me to my lowest,
When all I want to do is die.

But that is a coward’s route
Common sense soon prevails
With the dawn of a new day,
A fresh wind, fills my sails,
And once more I defy you,
Repelling each vicious blow
To show you – That I’m stronger,
Than any force, you’ll ever know,.

The odds are stacked against me,
Still, Hope, remains on my side,
‘What if?’ echoes through my mind,
As I hold on tight, to my pride,
You have destroyed so many lives,
Under the reign of your command,
But, I am no conquest of yours,
You’ve got a fight on your hand!

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

jayfinnauthor

Storytelling as it should be.

eyE[before]E

in the land of the m[EyE]nd the one E'd man is kEEn

devineshoesblog

A diary of my shoes and where they take me!

Your Haute Couture

FASHION & PERSONAL BRANDING FOR THE MASSES! A HOW-TO BLOG ON BEING #STYLEWORTHY WITHOUT BREAKING YOUR PIGGY BANK -Lana Layne

gingerfightback.wordpress.com/

Gingers, Poetry, Nonsense, Red Hair, Hope, Sausages

Susie Lindau's Wild Ride

Come for Adventure. Stay for the Ride!

NewDriven

An Independent Rock REVOLUTION

Espen Stenersrød- From Pen To Heart

Jack Kerouac with a scent of Henry Vaughn

Annakeiller's Blog

Anna Keiller's ceramic art and how it is made.

Icingandcake's Blog

My journey to find myself

Mehvilicious Blog

I have passion for senations!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

It's My Box

AndroidNurd! Nerd spelled like Turd just not as stinky!

~Cruising through my Life~

journey since 1989...

